20th Annual Northwest Dispute Resolution Conference a Huge Success!

Nearly 400 people participated in the Northwest Dispute Resolution Conference this year. Presenters and participants from all over the Northwest (Washington, Oregon & Idaho), and from Arizona, California, Massachusetts, Montana, Texas, Canada & England, attended a variety of subject offerings, choosing among a total of 45 different sessions.  Participants commented the conference was “well-organized” with “fantastic speakers” and was “very worthwhile,” “thought-provoking” and “practical.”


The first Northwest Dispute Resolution Conference in 1993 was the brainchild of Alan Kirtley, University of Washington law professor, and Michael Gillie, then owner of WAMS (Washington Arbitration and Mediation Service) and chair of the Education Committee of the newly formed WSBA Alternative Dispute Resolution section. The conference has grown each year and has continued to receive the support of the WSBA Alternative Dispute Resolution section, the University of Washington School of Law, and many generous individual and group sponsors. This year JDR, JAMS and WAMS co-sponsored a special track of sessions, “Mediating the Litigated Case,” popular among both newer and experienced mediators and attorneys serving as advocates in mediation.


The conference wouldn’t be possible without the significant time and energy of the volunteer planning committee, including Julia Gold and Nancy Highness, who have co-chaired the planning committee since 1998, Phil Cutler who was the Fundraising Chair this year and has served on the planning committee most of the twenty years the committee has existed, Jeff Bean who manages all things web related for promoting the conference, and many other hardworking committee members. The work of the volunteer committee is supported by Kathy Kline, who has served as the conference coordinator since 1994. Kathy provides keen attention to detail and unending patience in working with conference presenters and participants. Thank you to each of them and to all who make the conference a highlight of education in ADR every year.


Submitted by Kathleen Wareham on behalf of The Northwest Dispute Resolution Conference Planning Committee: Julia Gold, Nancy Highness and Kathleen Wareham Co-Chairs; Members: Jeff Bean, Stew Cogan, Phil Cutler, Chris Goelz, Rina Goodman, Joel Greene, Mark Honeywell, Kathy Kline, Donna Lurie, Tom Melancon, Jim Pearman, Eric Watness and Lish Wishton.

Views: 128


You need to be a member of WSBA Alternative Dispute Resolution to add comments!

Join WSBA Alternative Dispute Resolution


Welcome to our community of ADR professionals: mediators, arbitrators, and lawyers representing and advising clients.  We are active in the growth and development of ADR in Washington as well as the education of members of the bar and the public.

Latest Activity

© 2023   Created by WSBA ADR.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service